Settled in 1639, established as the town of Redding in 1644, re-established as the new town of South Reading in 1812, the town changed its name in 1868. All anniversaries, but which is most significant?
Wakefield Native rose to
Supreme Allied Commander, NATO
The single largest employer in Wakefield during the first third of the twentieth century, the Harvard Knitting Mill at one time employed 20% of the mill workers in New England. Thought to be the first company to institute an employee profit sharing plan while still paying generous wages and also providing free medical services for…
One of the most curious structures to be built in Greenwood was what appeared to be a medieval castle. Although the castle has since been demolished, it still lives on in the memories of many. This is the story of “Castle Clare.”
A philanthropist as well as a physician, Solon O. Richardson was also a savvy businessman, with a product that was much in demand. Read on to discover why!
Some things will have to speak for themselves. This broadside, printed in 1840, was found in the archives of the Library of Congress. Probably written by Lilley Eaton, no other information is presently known about this broadside. But we’re on the hunt… Its description of two churches and the pond that rivals Nahant in its…
Discover the history of ‘Wakefield Park,’ one of the earliest upscale real estate developments (called a ‘garden suburb’) in the Boston area.